Avoiding a heart attack or heart surgery is not always possible. Heredity and genes are important factors, even though a healthy diet is followed, along with exercise and a lean body mass. I fit this category. My LDL/HDL numbers were spot-on–one to one ratio. The culprit was my LP(a) was out-of-sight. This little-known pernicious cholesterol clogged my arteries. Statins, diet or exercise does not help to reduce LP(a). Niacin helps lower the numbers, but a possible side effect is elevated liver enzymes if I take too much Niacin. Blood tests show whether I have the right balance.

Prior to my doctors realizing I had a LP(a) problem I had an angioplasty because a main pumping artery was completely clogged. Three years later I had a quadruple by-pass because I was told I had a global problem where all of my arteries were severely clogged. Cardiologists at John Hopkins in Boston finally diagnosed  my LP(a) problem and put me on Niacin. I have been symptom-free for the past 17 years.

A blood test will give your doctor the information needed to finding abnormalities in your blood stream. If you are not over-weight, eat a healthy diet, exercise regularly, and your LDL/HDL ratio and numbers are normal, but you experience angina, there may be a different kind of cholesterol  causing your problem.

 

 

triathlon